Sankofa Awards

Sankofa receives the 2006 Mrs. Wilburn Boddie Peace Award at the AME-SADA Second Annual Founders' Award Banquet

On September 21, 2006, the African Methodist Episcopal Church Service and Development Agency (AME-SADA) hosted its Second Annual Founders Awards Banquet. This historic event salutes the vision, leadership and commitment of AME-SADA's founders: Bishop John Hurst Adams, Bishop Frederick C. James, Reverend Lonnie Johnson, Ms Wilburn Boddie and Dr. Joseph C. McKinney.

AME-SADA is the humanitarian relief and development entity of the African Methodist Episcopal Church (AME), the oldest organized African American Church in the United States. AME-SADA is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, dedicated to improving the quality of life in Africa and the Caribbean. Its mission is, Helping People Help Themselves, by providing essential assistance to those in need through health, micro-credit and education programs, as wells as emergency humanitarian aid in Africa and Haiti.

The banquet began by welcoming remarks from Bishop McKinley Young, Chairman, AME-SADA, followed by the introduction of the Mistress of Ceremonies, Mrs. Denise Rolark-Barnes. The Invocation was given by Bishop Adam J. Richardson, Banquet Chairman.

The night included a special video presentation "Helping People Help Themselves", a silent auction, dinner, and the AME-SADA Founders' Awards Presentations.

The award recipients included:

  • Congressman Melvin L. Watt - 2006 Bishop John Hurst Adams Equal Justice Award recipient
  • Dr. Charles L. Curry - 2006 Lonnie Johnson Health Award recipient
  • Dr. Freeman Hrabowski - 2006 Bishop Frederick C. James Education Award recipient
  • Mr. Jack Johnson (County Executive for Prince George's County, Maryland) - 2006 Dr. Joseph C. McKinney Economic Development Award recipient
  • Sankofa International Inc. - 2006 Mrs. Wilburn Boddie Peace Award recipient

Copyright © 2015 Sankofa International, Inc. All Rights Reserved